Northern Wyoming Daily News - Serving the Big Horn Basin for over 100 years

By Tracie Mitchell
Staff Writer 

Worland High School students bring home the blue


May 10, 2018

WORLAND – Six Worland High School students, Jamon Dower, Morgan Pennington, Megan White, Owen Kern, Peyton Woffinden and Tristan Lungren earned awards at the Wyoming High School Activities Association High School Art Symposium held at the Casper Events Center April 19-21.

The State Art Symposium is an art competition where all the schools in the state compete against each other.

Worland High School art teacher Pam Greek stated that she is very proud of her students and that despite many obstacles to deal with, her students handled everything like champs.

According to Greek only 25 pieces were chosen to receive congressional awards out of 4,000 with Dower and Pennington each earning one of those 25 with their two-dimensional entries. Their pieces will be on display in the state capitol until the art symposium next year.

Greek commented that Dower and Pennington have committed to studying art after high school.

The symposium also has the First Lady award, where the governor’s wife chooses art pieces to be displayed in the governor’s mansion. “It should also be noted that Wyoming first lady Carol Mead visits the state art symposium to personally select several student works to exhibit in the Governor’s Mansion for the following year.  While Worland did not have any selected this year (we have in the past), the fact that Mrs. Mead is such a huge supporter of what we do needs to be acknowledged.  I don’t know of too many other high school state competitions that leaders of the state attend on a yearly basis,” Greek said in an earlier interview. 

In total Worland art students brought home 10 blue ribbons with Dower earning six, Pennington two, White one and Kern, Woffinden and Lungren earning one for a skeleton tyrannosaurus they created in welding class.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017