Northern Wyoming News - Serving the Big Horn Basin for over 100 years

Author photo

By Karla Pomeroy

Ten Sleep residents set to elect new mayor Tuesday


April 30, 2020

A new mayor of Ten Sleep will be elected next Tuesday after residents head to the polls.

Mayor Jack Haggerty opted not to seek re-election, leaving the door open for current council member Ernie Beckley or David Lyman to fill the four-year seat.

Residents will also be electing two council members to four-year terms. Current council member Amy Truman is seeking to retain her seat. Also running are Bart DeWitt, Steve Criner and Sylvia Nichole Norman.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Ten Sleep Senior Center. Voters must use the back-door entrance. Only two to three voters will be allowed into the center at any one time in order to abide by COVID-19 social distancing guidelines.

Sanitary wipes will be available at the polls, Town Clerk Lori Hughes said.

She said she has had 10 absentee ballots picked up, as of Tuesday morning. Absentee ballots must be returned to the town hall by Monday, or turned in at the senior center on the day of the election.

The canvassing board will meet on Wednesday to certify the election results.

The mayor and council candidates elected on Tuesday will be sworn in during the first meeting in June, Hughes said.

This month’s regular council meeting was moved from May 5 to May 6 to accommodate the election.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023