By Seth Romsa
Staff Writer 

School boards welcome two new members

Incumbents retain seats


November 5, 2020


Staff Writer

WASHAKIE COUNTY – Both Washakie County School District (WCSD) No. 1 and 2 had three vacancies this general election, with one incumbent electing to race in each district.

Incumbent David Tommerup won re-election for his seat on the Worland school board, according to unofficial results. He received the most votes with 2,260 of the 3,530 votes cast by electors.

“I am overwhelmed and very humbled about the support,” Tommerup said. “I am looking forward to another four years and doing the best I can for everybody.”

Tommerup will be joined by second and third place vote getters Brett Argeris and Jonathon Hake. Argeris received 2,066 of the votes cast and Hake received 1,609 of the votes that were cast during the general election.

“I am happy with the outcome and I am looking forward to getting started,” Argeris said. “I know there is a lot on the agenda in the coming year(s), it should be exciting with a lot of work to be done.”

“I am looking forward to getting to work, I know it will be difficult with the budget,” Hake said. “I know we have a good group of people that will do the best they can to keep education great in Worland.”

Tim Wright came in fourth on the ballot receiving 1,237 votes and Tami Young came in fifth receiving 1,008 votes.


In Ten Sleep, incumbent and school board President Jared Lyman received the second most votes, where he received 278 out of the 502 ballots cast in the general election.

Lyman came in just behind new member Sarah Anderson who was chosen when she received 338 out of the 502 ballots cast. Coming in third was Erin Blutt who received 246 votes.

“I am excited and looking forward to making the school a fun and safe environment for everyone,” Blutt said.

Blutt came in ahead of C.J. Grimes who received 158 votes, and Brandon Weddle who received 146 votes.

Each candidate for both districts will serve a four-year term and will be up for re-election in 2024 should they choose to run again.

School board members take office in December.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020