Serving the Big Horn Basin for over 100 years

Ten Sleep elects new mayor and council members

TEN SLEEP - Ninety-nine Ten Sleep voters came to the polls or sent in absentee ballots to elect a new mayor and council members Tuesday.

In announcing the unofficial election results, Town Clerk Lori Hughes said Ernie Beckley received 79 votes while David Lyman recorded 15 votes.

The canvassing board was slated to meet Wednesday morning to certify the results. With no changes, Beckley will be sworn in as mayor at the June 2 meeting. Beckley, who currently serves on the council, will be tasked with appointing someone to fill that vacancy.

The race for the two four-year council seats was tight between three of the four candidates. Unofficially, Bart DeWitt received the most votes with 55, followed by Sylvia Nichole Norman with 49, current council member Amy Truman with 44 and Steve Criner with 28.

More on this story will be published in Thursday's Northern Wyoming News.

Rendered 07/24/2024 20:07